Those Damn Pills (Rewrite)

Gotta take these meds
Straighten out my head
Looked in the mirror and said
You’re no good to me dead
No, no, no, you’re no good to me dead

Sittin’ in the doctor’s office
I feel I’ve lost control
How long have you been like this?
Hell, doc, I just don’t know

I take the script he gives me
Leave feeling lost and broke
Gotta run to the store to get
Some whiskey, eggs and Lexapro 

  (chorus)
  I swallow my comfort, drown in my fears
  Erase tomorrow and all those bitter years
  I swallow my comfort, forget all my fears
  Bathe in my sorrow, sleep in my tears

I don’t quite understand
This broken home
God knows I loved that man
But now I’m on my own

His lies and cheating ways
kept me up all night
So I take another damn pill
To make it all seem right

  (chorus)
  I swallow my comfort, drown in my fears
  Erase tomorrow and all those bitter years
  I swallow my comfort, forget all my fears
  Bathe in my sorrow, sleep in my tears

The kids need new shoes
And a momma with no blues
Gotta take these damn meds
To keep me straight in the head

Sentenced to die young
In this life I live
Guilty, cause I gave a damn
And he just never did.  

Gotta take these meds
Straighten out my head
Looked in the mirror and said
You’re no good to me dead
No, no, no, you’re no good to me dead

  (chorus)
  I swallow my comfort, drown in my fears
  Erase tomorrow and all those bitter years
  I swallow my comfort, forget all my fears
  Bathe in my sorrow, sleep in my tears

Leave a Reply

