Tolerate Me

You preach your song
of abundant tolerance,
your pride glares into
my face defiantly, and
vengeance seeks its
day with judge and jury.
I am sorrowful for your
injustice and admire
your endurance against it.
However, when I came to you
during your sermon of tolerance,
I was scorned and ridiculed
for my doctrine, simply
because it is against yours.
I do not speak hate,
nor do I preach inequity.
Nonetheless, If pressed, I simply
cannot agree with you,
but I would deprive
you of nothing.
I’m thinking, in light of
recent circumstances,
perhaps your platform
of acceptance and tolerance
should be changed
to that of conformity,
at least until the day comes
that you can tolerate me.

Leave a Reply

