Fall to hell

(to Evan)

Most my life I hurt,
felt lost without,
struggled to find
pieces of my mind,
confused about
things to be defined,
love was a yearning
in the absence of another,
and desperation
in their presence.
It’s been a long road of
crushing disappointments,
found myself broken,
misled, mistaken, misspoken,
discovered hope
in the fragments of my life,
and there I stumbled,
faltered, failed and fumbled.
Sitting among the chaos,
I stood weaker, yet stronger,
resolved, returned, recovered.
Here I know that
broken is beautiful;
unbroken is a myth,
and wisdom gives us
the humility we
need to survive.
Here I have me, and
unexpectedly, I found you,
where love is a gift given both of us,
yearning and desperate no more,
here in what I thought
surely was my fall to hell,
I live in peace and truth
and look to heaven, grateful
for the shattered pieces of my life.

Leave a Reply

