NYC ’15 – The Arrival

I suppose I feel like I’m reliving my first time here by sharing the experience with others who are seeing it for the first time; and to know I have a small part in a moment that someone else will cherish forever is gratifying, to say the least.

We flew out of Dallas on a direct flight and checked into our room around 11:30 pm. Everyone was pretty hungry. I hadn’t eaten all day, except for some pecans. I researched places and found a food truck with high reviews. We walked a couple of blocks to find the location. By this time, it was about 12:30 am and there was a line that was about 40 people deep. There were about three other vendors close by who had no customers. Could this place really be that good or was this some kind of “special brownie” place?

There was absolutely no good reason why 40 people (and counting) would be lining up and waiting at midnight and in the cold unless…

YES, It was really that good! So please, if you do nothing else go try some food at the Halal Guys food truck on W 53rd (I’ve seen them all over the city, but I have eaten at this one twice and can vouch for it).

I’m signing off tonight. It’s been a good day, and tomorrow promises more good fortune. I get to meet a cousin I  didn’t even know existed until a month or so ago. I will be having brunch with him, his wife, their children and his niece. I am very excited about this.

My traveling partners are going to visit Ellis Island while I acquaint myself with family. I love Ellis Island, but don’t mind missing it since I’ve already been a time or two.

One thought on “NYC ’15 – The Arrival

  1. Hi!! I’m Diann’s middle daughter. So happy she gets to visit NYC with you as her guide. Love the pictures, and your writing!! Can’t wait to see the rest of your adventures. How exciting to meet new family. Have a great day!!

Leave a Reply

